Unexpected patch this evening

Unfortunately your Friday night SWTOR playing time is going to be a little fragmented, with a four hour patch downtime tonight. And no – it’s not the 1.2 update being deployed.

Time conversions:

AEDT: 6pm to 10pm
AWST: 3pm to 7pm
NZDT: 8pm to Midnight

The details from BioWare:

Upcoming Patch

Date: Friday, March 23rd, 2012

Time: 2AM CDT (12AM PDT/3AM EDT/7AM GMT/8AM CET/6PM AEDT) to 6AM CDT (4AM PDT/7AM EDT/11AM GMT/12PM CET/10PM AEDT)

All game servers will be offline during this period. This deployment is expected to take no more than four hours.

Comments

  1. Roonerspism says:

    Come on Bioware! It’s bad enough that they’re maintaining Australian
    servers according to a US schedule, which means it’s a six night a week game,
    but now they’re locking us out on a Friday night.

    After they took down the servers on a Saturday several weeks
    ago they made noises about how important it was to them to look after the
    community, and take on board the feedback. That rings very hollow after this
    announcement.  

    •  Agreed – I’m in EST, but can only play between 2am and 7am (Job and a girlfriend during the day – horrible insomniac at night.  Game gives me something to do when I’m not sleeping.)  I’ve played 7 weeks so far, and every minute of it has been between those hours, so not only is it already a 6-night a week game, this bumps it down to 5 this week.  Plus they have FAR too many servers, so the spread out population means I have nobody to play with – ever.  It’s been a completely solo game for me.  I’m L49 now, and haven’t found a heroic group since mid-20s, and have never found a Flashpoint group, yet no server transfers.  The Oceanic servers weren’t available when I created my character, there’s no transfer option, and frankly I’m not too eager to repeat the last 7 weeks just because the population is spread out too thin to support a 24-hour game. 

      I know my situation is not the norm, but if they staggered maintenance times, at least the players whos schedule puts them during maintenance wouldn’t be the ones affected *every* time.  I enjoy the game, but the low levels (especially pre-speeder) are ungodly boring, and I really haven’t decided between unsubbing or repeating them yet..

  2. Doesn’t bother me one bit.  They need to do what they need to do.  This is a young mmo, have some patience.

    Also running the normal maintenance on a US schedule for the Oceanic servers is the only way to do it and maintain functioning servers.  Could you imagine what would happen if the US servers were taken down for maintenance and the Oceanic server were left online?

    Once again, do what you need to do Bioware.  I’ll survive.

  3. Kate DiBella says:

    I’m not bothered if it’s actually a legitimate bugfix/problem.  I’m a little disappointed that it seems to be for the purposes of the Free Weekend, though.  Until they release actual patch notes saying what was fixed, I shall remain dubious, I think. On the plus(?) side, it’s now making me go do some homework, lol.

    •  1.1.5d Patch Notes

      3/23/2012

      General

      Implemented changes to improve overall server stability.

      So imo, worth it!  They wouldnt just shut down servers on a friday for the hell of it.  🙂

  4. Fuckyoubioware says:

    terrrible

%d bloggers like this: